Back with new adventures


Hey all! So I must admit that I have abandoned my blog for quite sometime but I’m back to catch you all up on my adventures. I’ve spent the last couple of months really getting to know the different regions of Ecuador. Now more than ever, I find this country absolutely full of wonders. The coast is a beautiful, under-rated region of Ecuador with some of the most down-to-Earth people and incredible beach sunsets. The cloud forests (Mindo, Baños, etc.), equipped with breath-taking mountain summits and an array of hummingbirds “picaflores,” represent a  stunning and probably my favorite ecosystem. Galapagos Islands are a biologist’s dreams come true as anyone familiar with Darwin’s work will be overwhelmed with face-to-face contact with the flora and fauna that helped shape our understanding of evolution.. plus the blue-footed boobies are really cute! Finally, the Amazon Rainforest is absolutely breathtaking, with creatures lurking all about in the thick jungle fur of plants. Yasuni National Park is home to the most biodiverse place on Earth, and being able to spend a month in this very special place revealed a great deal of surprises and small wonders. Over the next couple of weeks, I will do my best to catch up with photos, stories and more, starting with the Amazon and working my way backwards. I hope you enjoy! ~Dejeanne

I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.

Sunset over the Tiputini River in Yasuni National Park, eastern Ecuador.

Leave a comment